Address: Rua General Alberto da Silveira, 8600 – 594 Lagos 282 762 301
Housed in the building annex to the St. Anthony’s Church, it was founded in 1932 by the initiative of its patron, Dr. José dos Santos Pimenta Formosinho. It was developed through combined efforts, with constant donations. The archaeological excavations carried out by its founder, by Abel Viana and Octávio da Veiga Ferreira were of extreme importance to the enrichment of the collections of pre- and proto-historic, Roman, Arabic and Portuguese Medium Age. At the entrance boasts a Renaissance portal, originally from Compromisso Marítimo’s Church to which was adapted an iron gate made by local artists. Its vast collection comprises sections of Archaeology, Sacred Art, History of Lagos, Ethnography of the Algarve, Painting, Numismatics, Ethnography Mineralogy and Overseas. It has singular collections and museographic pieces unique in Portugal that, by itself, justify a visit. The entrance to the Museum provides access to the interior of the Church of St. Anthony, a jewel of Baroque gilded in Portugal.